22
Mar
12

Week 6 – Podcasting, Audacity, MultitrackStudio and more

This week I kicked off my podcast adventure in earnest. Unfortunately however, I was experiencing problems with my microphone and could not get a clear recording of my vocal, so instead, I opted to experiment with software known as Speakonia – a text-to-speech package. Basically I typed up my podcast script and pasted it into Speakonia, which in turn allowed me to tweak the volume of speech, type of voice used and speed of reading. Finally, when I was happy with the results I recorded the piece using the in-software recording option and exported the final edit as a  WAV file. I then pasted the WAV file into another piece of software known as FlicFlac, which in turn encoded the audio to a 320kbps mp3 file.

For the introduction music I used a drum-loop (which I got from the Hammerhead free sampler software – see above) and put it on a perpetual loop. Over this, I used an audio interface to record four separate acoustic guitar tracks using a direct line into MultiTrackStudio software, which I’ve discussed in an earlier post. I used in-software settings to add the delayed effects to the harmonics that can be heard. I played around with both reverb and panning until I was happy with the over sound and then recorded the Master track. Again, I exported as a WAV file.

Next, I imported both WAV files into the Audacity software (both the music and the vocal), I then arranged the tracks in various ways below:

I cut a small sample from the music and used it to paste elements at both the start and end of my finished podcast. I then added fade effects to both copies to coincide with the commencement and completion of the vocal track respectively. Using the drag option I was able to position the vocal track (recorded in Speakonia) perfectly between both intro and outro segments of music. I then exported my podcast as an mp3 and voila! Podcast complete and ready for submission to Podomatic for next weeks post.

Useful Links:

From anyone interested in the home-recording aspect in terms of music, below you’ll find links to some interesting free software. While Audacity is excellent for general recording, Reaper is an outstanding piece of software that can compete with commercial packages worth hundreds!!

Reaper Audio Production Workstation

Myna Audio Editor (not bad either!!)

Home Recording Information


0 Responses to “Week 6 – Podcasting, Audacity, MultitrackStudio and more”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


Best App Recommendation: Camera+

RSS The iPhoneography Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 1,102 hits